The South African

Super Fan Saturday: Bulls vs Sharks


Bulls Director of Rugby Jake White included four Springbok loose forwards in his squad of 30 players for their Super Fan Saturday clash against the Sharks.

Super Fan Saturday: Bulls vs Sharks

Duane Vermeulen will lead the charge for the Bulls, in what will be his first game back at Loftus Versfeld in 2020, having recently returned from a stint in Japan, while another Bok loosie, Arno Botha, is also back at his old home ground from Munster in Ireland.

White’s first competitive squad includes a number of returnees, new faces and debutants, including Nizaam Carr, in his debut for the Pretoria side, and fellow Bok flank Marco van Staden, former Blitzbok Tim Agaba and the promising Muller Uys also in the running to impress White for a starting spot in the loose trio, where the Bulls have amazing depth.

Amongst the backs, Springbok and Blitzbok speedster Gio Aplon will debut for the Bulls, where a number of tried and tested players will aim to stretch the Durbanites on defence.

A new-look Sharks backline will be on display when the KwaZulu-Natalians face the Bulls in the first match of Super Fan Saturday at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria.

With Springbok RWC stars Makazole Mapimpi (off to Japan) and Sbu Nkosi (injured), as well as exciting prospect Aphelele Fassi (injured) not available, Sharks coach Sean Everitt has named a bunch of new backs in his squad.

Blitzboks Werner Kok and Muller du Plessis feature amongst the backs with new signing Manie Libbok, who returns to his former stomping ground in Pretoria, as well as the experienced Curwin Bosch, Lukhanyo Am, Jeremy Ward, Marius Louw and JP Pietersen.

Backs: Gio Aplon, David Kriel, Cornal Hendricks, Jade Stighling, Stravino Jacobs, Travis Ismaiel, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Clinton Swart, Stedman Gans, Morné Steyn, Chris Smith, Embrose Papier, Ivan van Zyl, Marco Jansen van Vuren.

Forwards: Duane Vermeulen (captain), Arno Botha, Nizaam Carr, Tim Agaba, Marco van Staden, Muller Uys, Ruan Nortjé, Sintu Manjezi, Juandré Kruger, Jason Jenkins, Trevor Nyakane, Mornay Smith, Jacques van Rooyen, Jan-Hendrik Wessels, Schalk Erasmus, Corniel Els.

Backs: Grant Williams, Sanele Nohamba, Jaden Hendrikse, Curwin Bosch, Jordan Chait, Muller du Plessis, Caleb Dingaan, Jeremy Ward, Marius Louw, Lukhanyo Am, JP Pietersen, Werner Kok, Manie Libbok, Thaakir Abrahams.

Forwards: Ox Nche, Mzamo Majola, Dylan Richardson, Dan Jooste, Thomas du Toit, John-Hubert Meyer, Ruben van Heerden, JJ van der Mescht, Hyron Andrews, Emile van Heerden, Evan Roos, Adam Mountfort, Celimpilo Gumede, Tera Mtembu, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Phepsi Buthelezi.

Super Fan Saturday: Bulls vs Sharks – Match details and where to watch

Date: Saturday, 26 September 2020

Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Kick-off time: 16:30

Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge

Assistant referees: Aimee Barrett-Theron, Morne Ferreira

TMO: Willie Vos

TV: Live on SuperSport Grandstand


Read the original article on The South African

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *