The South African

Safa appoints big names in its technical committee


The South African Football Association (Safa) announced its technical committee earlier in the week, with some familiar faces present in the group.

The list named by the organisation features past players who represented both the men and women’s senior national teams, with former Bafana captain Lucas Radebe among the more prominent names, along with Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis.

Safa appoint technical committee 

The committee is chaired by Safa national executive committee member Jack Maluleke, with Buddha Mathathe serving as his deputy.

In a statement, Safa said it was delighted to be able to call upon so many ex-players.

“The South African Football Association has consolidated its Technical Committee by roping in the expertise of several ex-footballers and coaches,” Safa said. “The committee is chaired by Safa NEC senior member Jack Maluleka who himself was an accomplished soccer player. “His deputy is a football legend, Buddha Mathathe who is also the president of the SA Masters and Legends Association. “Former Bafana Bafana and Leeds United legend, Lucas Radebe is back in the committee and joins another decorated player David Nyathi in the set-up. “Among other members of the Technical Committee are Boebie Solomons, Farouk Khan, Sudesh Singh and president of the SA Football Coaches Association, Greg Mashilo.”

Safa added that all national team coaches form part of the Technical Committee as well as the Technical Directorate.

Meanwhile other former players, such as former Kaizer Chiefs and Bafana Bafana duo Brian Baloyi and Fabian McCarthy will will work on Safa’s Marketing, Media and Commercial Committee, while retired judge Ronnie Pillay will head up the ethics committee.

Safa technical committee 

Jack Maluleke, Buddha Mathathe, David Nyathi, Fabian McCarthy, Sudesh Singh, Boobie Solomons, Lucas Radebe, Greg Mashilo, Molefi Ntseki, Arthur Zwane, Hellman Mkhalele, Desiree Ellis, Simphiwe Dludlu, Sheryl Botes, Jabulile Baloyi, Maud Khumalo, Sharleen Booysens, Anna Neyman.


Read the original article on The South African

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *