The South African

Quatrararo crashes, Morbidelli wins San Marino GP


Yamaha rider Franco Morbidelli won the San Marino MotoGP on Sunday after an incident-packed race at Misano Adriatico.

Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso took the championship lead from Fabio Quartararo who crashed out of the race.

Italian Morbidelli’s victory ahead of countryman Francesco Bagnaia and Suzuki’s Spanish rider Joan Mir was his first ever in motorcycling’s elite class.

Mir claimed his spot on the podium with an audacious las lap overtaking move on Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi, denying the doctor what would have been his 200th Premier class podium.

With twenty laps to go Quatrararo made an error at turn four and came off his bike which slid into the gravel. He dropped right back down the field having just moved up into fourth after overtaking Maverick Vinales. The crash forced the championship leader to retire and cede the lead to Dovizioso who claimed seventh.

South Africa’s Brad Binder finished outside the points in 12th place but was the leading MotoGP rookie in this race. Binder is eighth in the world championship.

Morbidelli produce imperious ride

Morbidelli led the race from early on slipping past polesitter Maverick Vinales and setting the early pace.

Rossi kept up with the Italian until Morbidelli put the hammer down to set a new lap record and pull away at the head of the field.

Bagnaia and Rins hauled in Rossi after passing Jack Miller and Vinales. Ducati rider Bagnaia was back in MotoGP after breaking his leg earlier this season.

San Marino MotoGP results

1 Franco Morbidelli ITA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) 42m 2.272s
2 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Pramac Ducati (GP20) +2.217s
3 Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +2.290s
4 Valentino Rossi ITA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +2.643s
5 Alex Rins SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +4.044s
6 Maverick Viñales SPA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +5.383s
7 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP20) +10.358s
8 Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP20) +11.155s
9 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) +10.839s
10 Pol Espargaro SPA Red Bull KTM (RC16) +12.030s
11 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16) +12.376s
12 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16)* +12.405s
13 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) +15.142s
14 Iker Lecuona SPA Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)* +19.914s
15 Johann Zarco FRA Reale Avintia (GP19) +20.152s
16 Danilo Petrucci ITA Ducati Team (GP20) +22.094s
17 Alex Marquez SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V)* +22.473s
18 Stefan Bradl GER Repsol Honda (RC213V) +37.856s
19 Bradley Smith GBR Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) +78.831s
  Tito Rabat SPA Reale Avintia (GP19) DNF
  Fabio Quartararo FRA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) DNF
MotoGP results


Read the original article on The South African

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *