The South African

Jantjies to lead youthful Lions on Super Saturday


Elton Jantjies will lead a new-look Lions side when they resume their season on Super Saturday when they clash with the Stormers.

The Lions have been reinforced by recruits from across the Jukskei with former Bulls skipper Burger Odendaal set to start his first match for the Lions along with another man who swapped Loftus for Ellis Park in Divan Rossouw.

Jantjies to lead youthful Lions

On the bench is another former Bull in winger Jamba Ulengo having been kept out of the starting XV by Sibahle Maxwane who joined the Lions from the Kings during the lockdown.

Jaco Kriel has recovered fully from the injury that kept him side-lined earlier in the year while Ruan Dreyer, returning from his stint overseas, is back in the Lions jersey.

Kriel will bring some steel to the loos forward trio alongside the skillful Vincent Tshituka and Hacjivah Dayimani.

Bok lock needs to lead

Marvin Orie needs to establish himself as the leader of the pack to forward his Springbok ambitions and this match will give him a chance to test himself against bright Stormers prospect JD Schickerling. Orie gives up some height on the Stormers lock but the Lions will hope his experience can make the difference. 

Orie’s locking partner Ruben Schoeman also gives up a size advantage to his opposite number Salmaan Moerat. The Lions are likely to want to speed the game up to keep the Stormers tight five, that features and all-Springbok front row, out of the game.

Dylan Smith, Dreyer and Gerrit Visagie will have to take on that powerful Stormers front row directly and will need to have some tricks up their sleeve to compete at scrum time.

In the centres the Lions trial a new paring with Odendaal teaming up with exciting Lions outside back Wandisile Simelane.

Lions stalwart Courtnall Skosan will want to throw his name into the Springbok wing discussion considering recent injuries to World Cup winners.

Lions Super Saturday matchday squad


1 Dylan Smith, 2 Gerrit Visagie, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 5 Marvin Orrie, 6 Jaco Kriel, 7 Vincent Tshituka, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 9 Andre Warner, 10 Elton Jantjies (Captain), 11 Courtnall Skosan, 12 Burger Odendaal, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 14 Sibahle Maxwane, 15 Divan Rossouw.


Sti Sithole, Jan-Henning Campher, Carlu Sadie, Wilhelm van der Sluys, Reinhard Nothnagel, MJ Pelser, Francke Horn, Lyn Massyn, Dillon Smit, Gianni Lombard, Stean Pienaar, Daniel Kriel, Manuel Rass, Jamba Ulengo, EW Viljoen.


Read the original article on The South African

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *